A-State Theatre Students to Stage ‘Stop Kiss,’ with Opening Feb. 18

JONESBORO – Arkansas State University Department of Theatre will continue its 2021-2022 season with “Stop Kiss” by Diana Son.

Performances are Friday and Saturday, Feb. 18-19, and Feb. 25-26, at 7:30 p.m., with a matinee performance on Sunday, Feb. 20, at 2 p.m. Performances will take place in the Simpson Theater, off the Grand Hall of Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Dr., on the A-State campus.

“Stop Kiss” takes place after Callie meets Sara, and they unexpectedly fall in love. But unfortunately, their first kiss provokes a violent attack that transforms their lives in a way they could never anticipate. “Stop Kiss” was described by Variety as “A poignant and funny play about the way, both sudden and slow, that lives can change irrevocably.”

The cast includes theatre majors Miraya Gerardo-Munguia of Searcy, as Callie; Robyne Richards of Beebe, as Sara; Norah Wilborn of Jonesboro, as Detective Cole; Gavin Wilson of Berryville, as George; Kaito Ito of Tokyo, Japan, as Peter; Kit Castellan of Poplar Bluff, Mo., as Mrs. Winsley/nurse; and Hayley Murry of Beebe, as Mrs. Winsley/nurse.

The show is directed by DayDay Robinson, assistant professor of theatre. Assistant directors include theatre majors Tyler Jones of Beebe and Kori Denison of Batesville.

Jeff McLaughlin, associate professor of theatre, serves as the scenic designer. Claire Abernathy, associate professor of theatre, serves as the costume designer with Madison Stewart, a theatre major from Trumann, as the assistant costume designer. Caisa Sanburg, assistant professor of theatre, serves as the lighting and sound designer with Trey Moore, a theatre major from Cave City, as the assistant lighting designer. Theatre majors Destiny Johnson of Cabot and Paydon Bradley of Trumann serve as the properties managers.

The stage manager is theatre major Alexander Jones of Russellville. Kylah Hood, a theatre major from Jonesboro, serves as the assistant stage manager.

The sound board operator is theatre major Jon Clark of Batesville. The light board operator is Orion Hulsey, a theatre major from Heber Springs. In addition, theatre majors Skyla Conger of Haskell and Justin Harris of St. Louis, serve as the wardrobe crew.

The house manager is theatre major Julie Barnett of Crossett. Theatre major Emily Provence of Searcy serves as the publicity manager. Emma Bryant, a theatre major from Siloam Springs, Mo., serves as the documentarian.

Closed captioning is managed by Allie Jones, a theatre major from Jonesboro. Tatsiana Chaiko, instructor in Spanish, is the Spanish translation facilitator. Translators include Laura Adams, Kendahl Davenport, Nickolas Davis, Madlynne Minton, Sophia Oury, Erin Pruitt, Karen Reyes, Aliah Rowe, Carmela Unnold Cofre, Justin Wilson and Rachel Wilson.

Tickets for “Stop Kiss” can be purchased Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. at the First National Bank Arena Box Office or by calling (870) 972-ASU1. Tickets can also be purchased online at AState.edu/tickets. Prices are $10 for seniors, children and A-State faculty and staff, and $15 for the general public. A-State student tickets are free at the box office with a student ID..

Press Release

1 Comment

  1. The wages of sin is death but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.