Foust Family Scholarships for Students in Four School Districts

JONESBORO – Graduates of high schools in four Northeast Arkansas communities will benefit from a new scholarship program established to assist with their education at Arkansas State University.

Students in Harrisburg, Cross County, Wynne or Forrest City school districts are eligible to apply for the Foust Family Scholarship, which has been established by Leon Foust of Forrest City.

“Having grown up after the Depression Era and attending college later than most people, I realized how important a small assistance, money-wise, could help some students,” Foust explained.  “Maybe this will enable some to complete their education.”

Foust, an A-State alumnus and retired bank president, selected the geographic preferences based on his personal experiences.

“I selected the three-county area due to that region being an important part of my life:  Poinsett County, born, raised, and schooled there; Cross County, lived several years there and worked several years in Wynne; and St. Francis County, lived and worked there for more than 50 years and raised my family there.”

Foust specified that students majoring in agriculture, business or vocal music will be eligible to receive the award on a rotating basis among the academic areas.  A music student may be in either music performance or the music education program.

“The three academic areas at A-State were chosen to honor each of my children, who received degrees from there,” he added.

The Foust Family Scholar will be selected by the scholarship selection committees in agriculture and business, and by the director of choral music activities, according to which area will be hosting the scholarship in a given year.

“Arkansas State students are fortunate to have supporters like Leon Foust, who understands the value of scholarship assistance such as that provided through his generous gift,” added John Fray, director of development.

For additional information on scholarship endowments and other methods for assisting deserving Arkansas State students, contact the Office of Development at the Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Blvd., or call (870) 972-3940.

# # #


This and other news releases also available at:

Be the first to comment

What do you think?