Gov. Hutchinson Appoints Jerry Morgan of Jonesboro to ASU System Board of Trustees

LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Asa Hutchinson has appointed Jerry Morgan of Jonesboro, a 1992 graduate of Arkansas State University and longtime banking executive, to the Arkansas State University System Board of Trustees.

Morgan will fill the remaining term of Dr. Tim Langford of Little Rock, who resigned in September after becoming Chair of the Urology Department at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. His term expires Jan. 14, 2024.

A native of Harrisburg, Morgan is Regional President for First National Bank. He has been in banking in northeast Arkansas for over 28 years.

ASU System President Chuck Welch noted that Morgan has been actively involved with A-State and its growth for many years.

“Jerry is a well-known leader in Jonesboro and Northeast Arkansas, and he was heavily involved in our efforts to develop the Embassy Suites Hotel and Red Wolf Convention Center,” Welch said. “We appreciate Governor Hutchinson for selecting strong leaders and graduates of our ASU System institutions. We look forward to having Jerry’s financial and business experience on the board as we continue to strengthen and grow our statewide system.”

Jerry Morgan, Member, ASU System Board of Trustees

Morgan is chairman of the Jonesboro Advertising and Promotions Commission, where he has been active in many tourism- and sports-related economic development projects, including the hotel and convention center. He is past president of the Jonesboro University Rotary Club, where he has received two Paul Harris Fellow awards; served as a board member of the Arkansas Bankers Association and Craighead County Community Foundation; and was chairman of the First United Methodist Church finance committee. 

“Many of my career accomplishments are a direct result of the education and connections I was afforded from my time at Arkansas State University,” Morgan said. “I am grateful to Governor Hutchinson for giving me this opportunity to give back and serve my alma mater, as well as the additional outstanding ASU System institutions across Arkansas and in Mexico.”

Morgan was selected as an Arkansas Business “40 under 40” honoree in 2007 and as a Jonesboro Sun “12 People That Make Things Happen” honoree. He is a member of Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, where he received the Alumni of the Year Award. He is also a 1924 Sustaining Life Member of the A-State Alumni Association. 

He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in finance from Arkansas State in 1992 and a Master of Business Administration degree from A-State in 1998. He also holds a degree from the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking from Southern Methodist University.

Morgan is married to Caroline Bishop Morgan, who received a Master of Communication Disorders degree in speech-language pathology from A-State and practices at the Valley View School District. They have two children, Luke and Kate Morgan. 

Arkansas State University System

The Arkansas State University System, based in Little Rock, serves almost 38,000 students annually on campuses in Arkansas and Queretaro, Mexico, and globally online with an annual budget of $353 million. The ASU System includes Arkansas State University, a four-year Carnegie R2 research institution in Jonesboro with degree centers at ASU-Beebe, ASU-Mountain Home and ASU Mid-South in West Memphis. Arkansas State University Campus Queretaro opened in September 2017. The system’s two-year college institutions include ASU-Beebe, with additional campuses in Heber Springs and Searcy and an instructional site at Little Rock Air Force Base; ASU-Mountain Home; ASU-Newport, with additional campuses in Jonesboro and Marked Tree; ASU Mid-South in West Memphis; and ASU Three Rivers (formerly College of the Ouachitas) in Malvern. Henderson State University in Arkadelphia became the system’s second four-year institution member on Feb. 1 under Act 18 of 2021.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.