Theatre Continues Season with ‘Revue: A Musical Retrospective,’ April 23-25

Photo: Cast members Caelon Colbert, Sarah Martin, Katelyn Stanton and Josh Pryor
JONESBORO — Arkansas State University’s Department of Theatre will continue its 2020-21 season with “Revue: A Musical Retrospective,” a collection of musical theatre favorites spanning the 20th century.

Performances are Friday and Saturday, April 23-24at 7:30 p.m., and a matinee Sunday, April 25, at 2 p.m., outdoors on the south side of Fowler Center, at the academic entrance.

“Revue” is a live, socially distanced performance featuring songs from musical theatre from 1900 to 2000. Audiences will experience a sampling of how the sounds of the stage evolved over the century. 

The cast includes theatre majors Jonathan Clark of Batesville, Caelon Colbert of Little Rock, Skyla Conger of Haskell, Kori Denison of Batesville, Reilly Heffer of Little Rock, Kylah Hood of Jonesboro, Carson Horton of Batesville, Alexander Jones of Russellville, Allie Jones of Jonesboro, Tyler Jones of Beebe, Michael Joseph of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Fernanda Posadas of Sherwood, Joshua Pryor of Clinton, Katelyn Stanton of Trumann, Madison Stewart of Trumann, and Jericho Smith of McCrory.

The cast also includes Anna Handloser, a strategic communication major from Sheridan; Quaine Hogan, a vocal music performance major from Jonesboro; Sarah Martin, a vocal music education major from Jonesboro; Clayburne Modelevsky, a biology major from Jonesboro; and Jakelynne Vickery, a vocal and instrumental music education major from Poplar Bluff, Mo. Joy Sanford and Mary Medrick are collaborative pianists.

The show is directed by Brianna Larson, assistant professor of theatre and dance. Jason Eschhofen serves as the musical director, and Dr. Marika Kyriakos, director of Fowler Center and co-chair of the Department of Theatre, serves as the vocal coach. Jeff McLaughlin, assistant professor of theatre, serves as the technical director with Elizabeth Escobedo, a theatre major from Russellville, as the scenic designer. Caisa Sanburg, assistant professor of theatre, is the sound and lighting designer. Associate professor of theatre, Claire Abernathy, serves as the costume designer. 

Lead dramaturg is theatre instructor DayDay Robinson. Student dramaturgs are theatre majors Hayley Murry of Beebe, and Samuel Scott of Flint, Mich. Also on the dramaturgical team are cast members Colbert and Stewart, as well as mid-level education major Michala McPhink of Paragould. 

The stage manager is Mallory Smith of Bono, and assistant stage managers include Trey Moore of Mountain Home and Julie Barnett of Crossett. All of the stage management team are theatre majors. 

The sound board operators are theatre majors Claire Thomas of Batesville and Alec Lazarini of Memphis. Dressers are theatre majors Lukas Lawley of Little Rock and Allison Peavy of Collierville, Tenn. The stage carpenter is Clay Bures, a theatre and chemistry major from Little Rock. 

House managers are theatre majors Hayden Boles of Jonesboro, and Grace Dial of Paragould. The publicity manager is Miraya Gerardo-Munguia, a theatre major from Fairfield, Calif. 

Tickets for “Revue: A Musical Retrospective” must be purchased in advance, in order to avoid COVID-19 unsafe gathering conditions. Tickets can be purchased Monday-Friday8:30-5 p.m. at the First National Bank Arena Box Office or by calling 870-972-2781. Tickets can also be purchased online at Prices are $10 for A-State students/staff/faculty and $15 for the general public.

1 Comment

What do you think?