A-State Theatre to Open 2023-24 Season with ‘Curious Incident’ Production

Courtesy AState

JONESBORO – Arkansas State University’s Department of Theatre will open the 2023-2024 season with a production of “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” a play by Simon Stephens based on the novel by Mark Haddon.

Performances in the Fowler Center’s Simpson Theatre are set for 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday, Sept. 29-30 and Oct. 6-7, along with 2:30 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 1 and 8.

The play, which won five Tony Awards,” is billed as a powerful exploration of the inner world of a neurodiverse child and the challenges he faces in a society that doesn’t always understand them. Through Christopher’s eyes, audiences are given a glimpse into a world where the rules are different and sensory overload is a constant struggle. Broadway production

DayDay Robinson, assistant professor of theatre, directs the production, with Skyla Conger of Haskell and Trey Moore of Batesville, serving as assistant directors.

The cast includes Kaito Ito of Tokyo, as Christopher, Allie Jones of Jonesboro as Siobhon; Alex Jones of Russellville as Ed; Savannah Price of Alexander as Judy; Lindsey Zimmer of Jonesboro as voice one, Mrs. Shears and others; Niko Stark of Searcy as voice two, Mr. Shears and others; Julian Schranz of Arkadelphia, voice three, policeman and others; Madi Goad of Jonesboro, voice four, Rev. Peters and others; Joanna Crites of Alma, voice five, lady in the street and others; Deanne Flax of Port Arthur, Texas, voice six, Mrs. Alexander and others; and Bubbles the Poodle, of Jonesboro, as Sandy.

Claire Abernathy, associate professor of theatre, serves as the costume designer alongside Destiny Johnson of Cabot, the assistant costume designer.

Alec Lazarini of Memphis, serves as the scenic designer. Caisa Sanburg, associate professor of theatre, is the sound and lighting designer, assisted by Michael Joseph of Sikeston, Mo.

Haley Reed of Bay serves as stage manager. Assistant stage managers are Gavin Wilson of Berryville and Julie Barnett of Crossett. Kylah Hood of Jonesboro and Catherine Mohr of Searcy are properties masters, and Jeff McLaughlin, associate professor of theatre, is technical director.

Sandburg is master electrician, Skylar Craig of Bay is light board operator, Angel Able of Austin is sound board operator, Thomas Graham of Kennett, Mo., is backstage crew, Sami Lynn Miller of Austin is documentarian, Emma Bryant of Siloam Springs, Kelly Clarke of Johannesburg, South Africa, and R.J. Moad of Jonesboro are dressers, Nick Bates of Clarksville and Leah Max of Covington, Tenn., are house managers, and Starke Prine of Arrezzo, Italy, Cristal Martinez of Batesville, and Olin James of Jonesboro are in charge of captions.

Parents are kindly advised that the show may not be suitable for all ages due to adult language, references to violence, and mentions of animal mistreatment.

Tickets may be purchased 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday at the A-State Box Office in First National Bank Arena or by calling (870) 972-2781. Tickets may also be purchased online at AState.edu/tickets. Prices are $10 for seniors and A-State faculty and staff, and $15 for the general public.

A-State student tickets are free at the box office with a student ID. Limited seating is available, so it is recommended that patrons reserve seats in advance.

press release

Be the first to comment

What do you think?