Top AState Liberal Arts and Communication Graduates for 2021-22 are Announced

JONESBORO – The most outstanding graduating students in the College of Liberal Arts and Communication were recognized during at Arkansas State University’s Convocation of Scholars, according to Dr. Carl Cates, dean.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Dean MacDonald of Paragould, who graduated with Bachelor of Arts degrees in political science and in music. The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest cumulative GPA.

Noah Haynes of Sherwood, Emma Minden of Little Rock, Sydney Wofford of Rector, Kelly Lee of Walnut Ridge, Samuel Harris of Paragould, Jacob Clontz of Leicester, N.C., Leyandra Snyder of Boise, Idaho, Abby Frisby of Bay, Grace Nelson of Steele, Mo., and Krista Pittman of Jonesboro, along with MacDonald, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the 4.0 student who has completed the most credit hours at A-State.

The departmental award recipients and their respective degree programs are (by academic department):


Abigail Mock of Maumelle and Katelyn Feemster of North Little Rock, Bachelor of Arts (BA), communication studies; Cody T. Preston of Bono, Bachelor of Science (BS), strategic communication;  Emma Minden of Little Rock, BS, strategic communication, certificates in nonprofit and public relations and advertising; Amanda Mills of Ellisville, Mo., BS, strategic communication, online program; Faith Briggs of Alexander, BS, strategic communication, certificate in social media management, online program; Alye Freeman of Jonesboro, Master of Arts (MA), communication studies; Peyton Woodson Cooper of Katy, Texas, Master of Science (MS), strategic communication.

Criminology, Sociology and Geography

Hannah Morgan of Paragould, BA, criminology; Grace Nelson of Steele, Mo., BA, sociology; Kathleen Chapman of Chesterfield, Mo., MA, criminal justice; and Annica Kartsson of Vantaa, Finland, MA, sociology.

English, Philosophy and World Languages

Kelly Lee of Walnut Ridge and Lydia Perschka of West Memphis, BA, English; Abby Frisby of Bay, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), English; Rebekah Overman of Pocahontas, MA, English; Mindy Lynn of Rector, Master of Science in Education (MSE), English; Samuel Harris of Paragould, BA, philosophy; Mackenzie Ritsmon of Paragould, BA, Spanish.


Kathrine Davis of Jonesboro, BA, history; Kaylee Crain of Bay, BSE, social science; and Abby Pucik of Wynne, MA, history.

Media and Journalism

Joshua Pruett of Blytheville, BS, creative media production, corporate media emphasis; Alex Galbraith of Maumelle, BS, creative media production, sports media emphasis; Courtney Edwards of Cave City, BS, multimedia journalism.


Leyandra Snyder of Boise, Idaho, Bachelor of Music (BM), instrumental performance; Dean MacDonald of Paragould, BA, music; and Lynnley Dodd of Batesville, Bachelor of Music Education (BME), instrumental performance.

Political Science

Dean MacDonald of Paragould and Noah Haynes of Sherwood, BA, political science; Reagan Brackett of Vero Beach, Fla., MA, political science; Christina Nicole Phillips of Jonesboro, Master of Public Administration (MPA); and Joseph Traylor of Davidsonville, Md., MPA, online program.


Madison Stewart of Trumann, Bachelor of Arts (BA), theatre.

Press Release

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.