District drug task force announces expansion

PARAGOULD, Ark. – The drug task force for the Second Judicial District will get bigger in the new year.

Prosecuting Attorney for the Second Judicial District Scott Ellington announced Friday, December 20th at the Drug Task Force Board Meeting that he will be expanding the Task Force efforts in 2020.

Ellington discussed that earlier this year the Second Judicial District Drug Task Force extended its operations by forming a satellite office, Drug Task Force-North, which is comprised of officers within the Corning Police Department, Piggott Police Department, Clay County Sheriff’s Department, Paragould Police Department, and Greene County Sheriff’s Department to further battle the ongoing and ever- growing drug issues in Clay and Greene Counties. However, Ellington believes he can further assist these counties by dedicating a full-time Deputy Prosecuting Attorney assigned to the Drug Task Force to prosecute the felony drug cases within those two counties.

Deputy Prosecuting Attorney Katherine Calaway currently prosecutes the felony drug dockets for the Task Force in Clay and Mississippi Counties, but come 2020, she will take on the Greene County felony drug docket as well.

“Over the last five years, the felony drug docket has almost doubled in Greene County,” Ellington said. “That is due to not only the growing population in Northeast Arkansas, but also the hard work from the law enforcement officers within the Greene County Sheriff’s Department, Marmaduke Police Department, and the Paragould Police Department. I believe my office can assist Greene County by dedicating another prosecutor, specifically one from the Drug Task Force, to solely focus on the prosecution of drug cases in Greene County. I want to thank Deputy Prosecuting Attorney Corey Seats for his continued leadership as the Director of the Second Judicial District Drug Task Force. Further, I want to thank Clay County Sheriff Terry Miller, Greene County Sheriff Steve Franks, Piggott Chief of Police Jeremi Wicker, Corning Chief of Police Jimmy Leach and Paragould Chief of Police Todd Stovall for their dedication and assistance in launching Drug Task Force-North and for welcoming Miss Calaway as their new Drug Task Force Deputy Prosecutor.”

The Second Judicial District Drug Task Force is made up of city, county, state, and federal law enforcement officers from Clay, Greene, Craighead, Mississippi, and Poinsett Counties and was formed in 1990.

PHOTO: (From left to right)

Clay County Sheriff Terry Miller

DTF-North Agent in Charge, Scott Snyder of the Paragould Police Department

Deputy Prosecuting Attorney, Katherine Calaway

Greene County Sheriff Steve Franks

Prosecuting Attorney Scott Ellington

Second Judicial District Drug Task Force Director, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney Corey Seats

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.