A-State Spring Commencement has Approximately 2,100 Candidates

JONESBORO – Arkansas State University will hold its 2023 Spring Commencement ceremonies Saturday, May 6, at First National Bank Arena, 217 Olympic Drive. Approximately 2,100 students are candidates for graduation.

The ceremonies will be held at 10 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. The events are open to the public and seating for friends and family will be first-come, first-choice.

Chancellor Todd Shields will confer degrees upon graduates from eight colleges. The morning ceremony includes the Neil Griffin College of Business; the College of Liberal Arts and Communication; the College of Nursing and Health Professions; and University College.

The afternoon event includes the College of Agriculture; the College of Education and Behavioral Science; the College of Engineering and Computer Science; and the College of Sciences and Mathematics.

There are 18 students who have achieved a 4.00 GPA graduating summa cum laude, 86 with a GPA of 3.80-3.99 graduating magna cum laude, and 98 cum laude with a GPA of 3.60-3.79. A-State also will recognize academic achievement by 50 students in the Honors College.

The student speaker at the morning commencement ceremony will be Hye Sun Choi of South Korea, winner of the Wilson Award. Choi is graduating with a 4.0 GPA with a double major in criminology and political science from the College of Liberal Arts and Communication.

The second ceremony will feature Distinguished Service Award winner Mason Rhodes of Benton who is receiving a degree in mechanical engineering from the College of Engineering and Computer Science.

All parking near First National Bank Arena will be available with gates up. Parking on grass surfaces will not be permitted.

There is a clear bag policy that will be enforced for all guests. Doors will open 90 minutes before the ceremony begins.

Those who cannot attend the ceremony may view the livestream at AState.edu/live.

press release

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.