Local students recognized for math and science at A-State


JONESBORO — The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University recognized 23 outstanding graduating students for 2015-16 Thursday evening during its annual awards ceremony, according to Dr. John Pratte, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Brandi Mize of Paragould.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.  Jared Gowen of Garner, Christian Helms of Pocahontas, Erin Langley of Beebe, Madison Rowe of Paragould, and Jamie Wooldridge of Batesville received the 4.0 Scholar Award.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Brandi Mize of Paragould and Erin Langley of Beebe, Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Abbigale Drake of Marion, BS, biological sciences (zoology); Mary Rath of Heber Springs, BS, biological sciences (botany); Corey Martin of Hot Springs, BS, biological sciences (environmental biology); Ania Golaway of Jonesboro, BS, environmental sciences; Karen Wright of Wynne, BS, wildlife ecology and management; and Sarah Morrow of Wynne, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), biological sciences.

Chemistry and Physics
Brandi Mize of Paragould, Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; Stevie Walters of Benton, BS, chemistry; and Jay Mayfield of Paragould, BS, physics.

Computer Science
Christopher Saldivar of Marion, BA, computer science, and Clay Reddick of Brookland, BS, computer science.

Jamie Wooldridge of Batesville, BSE, mathematics; Christian Helms of Pocahontas and Madison Rowe of Paragould, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to five master’s degree students and two candidates for doctoral degrees.

The students and their respective programs were: Alix Matthews of North Little Rock, MS, biological sciences; Donald Panhorst of Marmaduke, MSE, biological sciences; Ram Vikram Reddy Challa of Warangal, India, MS, computer science; Klarissa Kahill of St. Louis, MS, environmental sciences; Riley Schack of Cabot, MS, mathematics; and Ningning Zhang of Jinan, China, and Tianhong Yang of Dalian, China, Ph.D, molecular biosciences.

# # #

This and other news releases also available at: AState.edu/news

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.