Educational Specialist School Psychology Program Earns Seven-Year Accreditation

JONESBORO – The Educational Specialist (Ed.S.) school psychology program at Arkansas State University has been awarded full accreditation, for seven years, from the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) following an extensive program review process.

This program is based in the Department of Psychology and Counseling within A-State’s College of Education and Behavioral Science.

NASP accreditation is a key indicator of quality graduate education in school psychology, comprehensive content, and extensive and properly supervised field experiences and internships. The process calls for programs to be judged by trained national reviewers and approved by the NASP Program Review Board.

Dr. John D. Hall, professor of psychology and counseling and coordinator of the program, stated, “We continue to remain in a group of excellent programs and universities across the country.” He further noted that program accreditation for the seven-year period is a first for the department, college and university.

NASP accreditation offers multiple advantages to programs, program graduates who can apply for state licensure and become a Nationally Certified School Psychologist (NCSP), the profession of school psychology, and most importantly to children, families and schools. 

Strengths of the A-State school psychology program noted by the reviewers include:

– Establishment of the HOWL Service Center and HOWL transition program for students with disabilities.

– Developmental progression of the school psychology second-year practicum experience.

– A variety of school psychology practicum experiences on campus, in schools, and clinic.

– Support of the department and upper administration for the program.

– Knowledge and understanding of the program by administrators.

– Contributions of new faculty to curriculum changes, program support, and relationship building.

– Support and communication of practicum and internship field supervisors.

– Collaborative team relationship among the faculty. 

– Openness to feedback to improve the program and experience for students.    

The A-State School Psychology Program is focused on educating future licensed school psychology specialists. These professionals are typically employed in school settings where they work extensively with students experiencing learning, behavioral and emotional difficulties. This includes consultation with teachers, parents and other educators and professionals to better meet the needs of all children.

Other major roles and functions of these professionals include assessment, intervention and prevention, program planning and evaluation, in-service education, and supervision.

Hall also commended everyone whose support contributed to this achievement, including the school psychology committee that he chairs, Dr. Kristin Johnson and Dr. Meagan Medley, the department faculty, the College of Education and Behavioral Science, university administration, program alumni, and licensed school psychology specialists who have supervised practicum and internship students.

Press Release

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Educational Specialist School Psychology Program Earns Seven-Year Accreditation – NEA Report – 164 News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.