College of Sciences and Mathematics Honors Top Graduates

JONESBORO — The College of Sciences and Mathematics at Arkansas State University recognized 22 outstanding graduating students for 2018-19 during its annual Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony, according to Dr. Anne Grippo, interim dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Madalyn Weiner of Little Rock.  The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.

Weiner, along with Madeline Malloy of Mountain Home, received the 4.0 Scholar Award.  When a tie occurs, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Biological Sciences
Anna Mears of Colt, Bachelor of Science (BS), biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Danielle Byrne of Campbell, Mo., BS, biological sciences (zoology); Hilary Canada of Blytheville, BS, biological sciences (environmental); Annie Savage of Alexander, BS, environmental science; Haylee Campbell of Bryant, BS, wildlife ecology and management; Summer Jarosz of Phenix City, Ala., Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), biological sciences education; and Tristen Wright of Paragould, BS, biotechnology.

Chemistry and Physics
Madalyn Weiner of Little Rock, Bachelor of Arts (BA), chemistry; Kristiana Watson of Conway, BS, chemistry; Jacob Wolford of Hardy, BSE, chemistry; and Katelyn Watson of Lake Ozark, Mo., BS, physics.

Anna Sturgeon of Jonesboro and Joshua Manning of Paragould, BSE, mathematics; and Zachary Rail of Vilonia, BS, mathematics.

Graduate Programs
Graduate student awards were presented to six master’s degree students and one doctoral degree candidate.

The students and their respective programs were: Gina Hendrick of Cape Coral, Fla., Master of Science (MS), biological sciences; Candace Campbell of Paragould, Master of Science in Education (MSE), biological sciences; and Cathie Butler of Paragould, Master of Arts (MA), biological sciences.

Other graduate recognitions included Angela Crider of Paragould and Meng Chen of China, MS, mathematics; Wayne Smart of St. George’s, Grenada, MS, environmental sciences; and Lucia Acosta-Gamboz of Costa Rica, Ph.D, molecular biosciences.

# # #

This and other news releases also available at:

Be the first to comment

What do you think?