A-State Jazz Ensembles to Present Concert

JONESBORO – The Department of Music and A-State Jazz Studies at Arkansas State University will perform in concert at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 14, in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Dr.

The evening will feature performances by the Jazz Lab group and the premier ensemble, the Jazz Orchestra, both directed by Michael Medrick, interim director of jazz studies.

Jazz Lab Ensemble will open the program with arrangements by George Stone, Bill Holman, Al Cohn and Medrick.

The Jazz Orchestra follows with arrangements by Bill Potts and Medrick. Music faculty members Dr. Marika Kyriakos, soprano, and Matt Carey, baritone, will join the group with solo performances, respectively, of “Summertime” and “I Got Plenty O’ Nothing.”

Members of the Jazz Orchestra and their instrument are Silas Weinert-Palomino of Bloomfield, Mo., and Jasper Webb of Jonesboro, alto sax; Ryker Little of Piggott, tenor sax; Christopher Crutchfield of Little Rock, bari sax; Gabe Waters of Bloomfield, Mo., bass clarinet; Cody Daughertee of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Jeremiah Hendrix of Bald Knob, Brody King of Nashville, Ark., and Ethan Williamson of Nederland, Texas, trumpet; Lari Norwood and Gerson Rangel of Paragould, and Rike Robinson and Selah Winn of Jonesboro, trombone; Matt Dixon of Jonesboro, guitar; Gabe Waters of Bloomfield, Mo., and Jack Ezell of Little Rock, bass.

The Jazz Lab Ensemble members include Eren Ernes of Jonesboro, flute; Layton Sanders of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Illana Parker of Trumann, and Abby Moore of Beebe, alto sax; Lauren Hart, Jasper Webb, Grayson Starling and Ryan Wright, all of Jonesboro, tenor sax; Andrew Williams of Jonesboro, bari sax; Calley Earnhart of Pocahontas, Sarah Ford of Osceola, Ryan Hartness of Paragould, Cameron Monroe of Crawfordsville and Hailey Talley of El Dorado, trumpet.

Other members are Charles Dixon of Manila, Christian Sandoval of Jonesboro, Travis Slaughter of Piggott and Drew Walker of Jonesboro, trombone; Elaine Dean of Osceola, horn and trumpet; Tionne Brooks of Jonesboro, piano; Addison McIntosh of Smithville, guitar; Tyler Chamberlain of Bono, bass; Carson Dixon of Paragould, Tyler Tanner of Trumann, and Jalonnie Johnson of Poplar Bluff, Mo., percussion.

For more information about this concert or any other A-State music presentation, one may contact the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

Press Release

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.