19th Soil and Water Conference to Cover Issues and Trends

JONESBORO – Milo Hamilton of First Grain in Austin, Texas, will be the luncheon speaker for Arkansas State University’s Soil and Water Education Conference and Arkansas Irrigation Expo on Wednesday, Jan. 25, at the A-State Convocation Center, 217 Olympic Drive.

Hamilton will discuss the importance of water and the rice trade in global affairs.  A-State Chancellor Doug Whitlock will attend the luncheon to welcome participants and introduce Hamilton.

Producers from Arkansas and surrounding states will attend the 19th annual conference.

A number of speakers from agricultural agencies and private interests will gather to share their thoughts on the latest issues and trends in soil and water conservation, according to Dr. Joe Massey, of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Research Service and conference chairman.

Following the 8 a.m. welcome by Dr. Timothy Burcham, dean of the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Technology, Dr. Michele Reba of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, will moderate the first morning session starting at 8:10 a.m.  Panelists include James Battreal, Dr. Dean Pennington and Dave Johnson.

The Arkansas Irrigation Expo begins at 9:30 with demonstrations and displays in meeting room A.

Dr. Mike Daniels of the University of Arkansas Extension Service will moderate the second morning session, on conservation, starting at 10:30.  Panelists include Rich Joslin, Dan Prevost and Andrew Grobmyer.

In addition to Hamilton’s address, the recipient of the Outstanding Conservation Award, presented by the conference and sponsored by the Judd Hill Foundation, will be announced at the noon luncheon.

Woody Ray of Ritter Agribusiness will moderate the afternoon session on implementing technology on the farm.  Panelists include Chris DeClerk, Robert Seidenstricker, Gary Sitzer, Dr. Deborah Leslie and Adam Chappell.  Adjournment is scheduled for 3 p.m.

In addition to Massey, other members of the conference program committee are Kevin Cochran, Charles Glover, Ray Benson, Michele Reba, Chris Henry, Mike Hamilton, Charolette Bowie, Justin Chlapecka, Mike Daniels, Jennifer Bouldin, Timothy Burcham, Steven Green, Keith Morris and Tina Gray Teague.

Conference registration begins at 7:30 a.m.  The fee for the day-long conference, including lunch, is $40. Certified Crop Adviser Soil and Water Continuing Education Units (CEUs) will be awarded. To register online, individuals should follow the conference link (http://www.AState.edu/soilandwater).  For more details, contact Chris Jones at (870) 972-2043 or by email, chrisjones@AState.edu.

# # #

This and other news releases also available at: AState.edu/news


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.