Annual Honors Recital Showcases Top Music Students

JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present its annual Honors Recital during Convocation of Scholars on Monday, April 10, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall.

This event will highlight presentations of instrumentalists, pianists, vocalists and composers at A-State.  In addition, the recital is now a part of Create@State.  As a result, the performers will go through a second adjudication that evening, and awards will be presented.

Students participating in the recital include:

  • Breunka Kimbrough of Cleveland, Miss., soprano;
  • Antonia Makridakis of Jonesboro, flute;
  • Sergio Rodriguez of Greenwood, Miss., Trevor Asher of Poplar Bluff, Mo., and Caroline Cato of Bryant, oboe trio;
  • Andrew Coleman of Colt, Emily Lindley of Jonesboro, Alex Long of Walnut Ridge, and Alex Washam of Jonesboro, percussion quartet;
  • Alyssa Perry of Cabot, clarinet;
  • Yu Minakata of Japan, Nicholas Graves of Jonesboro, Tyler Rasmussen of Jonesboro, and Tyler Remagen of Rector, saxophone quartet;
  • Lynlie Simpson of Jonesboro, flute;
  • Cody Hutchison of Jonesboro, Fumi Kubota of Japan, Matt Simpson of Paragould, and Andrew Jones of Jonesboro, tuba-euphonium quartet; and
    Alex Washam, marimba.

This program is free and open to the public.  For more information about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

This and other news releases also available at:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.