Concert Band and Symphonic Winds to Perform

JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the Concert Band and Symphonic Winds in concert on Thursday, Feb. 23, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall.  This program is free and open to the public.

The program features a mixture of contemporary pieces as well as some standards of the repertoire.  The bands are under the direction of Dr. Sarah Labovitz and Dr. Polly Middleton, along with graduate conductor, Matthew Simpson.  This is Middleton’s first concert as the assistant director of bands and director of the Concert Band. 

Concert Band will begin the program with Plante’s “A Walk in the Morning Sun.”  They will follow up with “Dusk” by Steven Bryant, “Mt. Everest” by Galante, and “Unraveling” by Andrew Boysen Jr.

Symphonic Winds will then take the stage, beginning their portion of the program with “Light Cavalry Overture” arranged by Fillmore.  They will also be playing “Mini-Variations on Amazing Grace” by Plog, “The Klaxon” by Fillmore, “Evocation” by Nowlin, and “Canzona” by Mennin.

For more information about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

This and other news releases also available at:

Comment on the Story

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s